U4-10214 - Disable ability to delete admin and translators group

Created by Shannon Deminick 01 Aug 2017, 00:22:28 Updated by Shannon Deminick 08 Sep 2017, 05:57:57

Subtask of: UAASSCRUM-1073

we should no allow deleting built in groups: admin, translators

both of these groups are looked up by their alias and perform specific functions

Comments

Jeffrey Schoemaker 04 Aug 2017, 07:05:47

Why is this? Is there still a possibility to disable these groups?

We're probably going to create our own groups and won't use these


Shannon Deminick 07 Aug 2017, 05:47:19

I need to check the codebase to see if there are certain checks for some of these group aliases.

the 'admin' group can definitely not be deleted and we need to put a check in so that the admin user cannot be moved out of the admin group since there are checks in the codebase for this.

We want to make sure that people don't accidentally remove groups which leads to no users having access to anything.


Shannon Deminick 05 Sep 2017, 13:42:33

PR https://github.com/umbraco/Umbraco-CMS/pull/2172


Mikkel Holck Madsen 06 Sep 2017, 07:39:08

Added a minor check so you cannot select the group.

With the initial commits, you wasnt able to click the checkbox, but if you already had a selection, of a few groups, you were still able to add the admin group as part of the selection. The check just disallows selection of the admin group


Priority: Normal

Type: Task

State: Fixed

Assignee:

Difficulty: Normal

Category:

Backwards Compatible: True

Fix Submitted:

Affected versions:

Due in version: 7.7.0

Sprint: Sprint 67

Story Points: 0.5

Cycle: