U4-10264 - Umbraco 7.7 beta - UX - 'Set permission' above 'Close'

Created by Jeffrey Schoemaker 08 Aug 2017, 07:16:05 Updated by Robert Copilau 28 Aug 2017, 09:21:53

Subtask of: UAASSCRUM-1073

If you edit the permissions in the tree, the close is directly underneath the same button (and thus not saving the edited permissions, but actually closing it). So if you accidently click too fast or double click, you're closing it instead of saving it.

It happened to me a few times, but I also saw it when my collegues were testing it.

3 Attachments

Download Set Permissions.mp4

Comments

Mads Rasmussen 25 Aug 2017, 08:16:30

PR: https://github.com/umbraco/Umbraco-CMS/pull/2150

I have made a workaround to the problem. Moving the close button or the submit button would break the consistency for most of the dialogs and editors. If we need to swap around buttons we will have to do some thinking throughout the UI and figure out the right solution. I didn’t go with a “prevent-double-click” solution because I was afraid of potential headaches in the future 😃

So instead I have made a “You have unsaved changes” notification for the dialog. If you try to close the dialog before saving you would get this notification. Just like we know it from the main editors. I think it is a solution which could be used in some other dialogs also (ex. in the document type editor) so in any case I think this is something useful.


Priority: Normal

Type: Usability Problem

State: Fixed

Assignee:

Difficulty: Normal

Category:

Backwards Compatible: True

Fix Submitted:

Affected versions: 7.7.0

Due in version: 7.7.0

Sprint: Sprint 66

Story Points: 1

Cycle: