We have moved to GitHub Issues
Created by Nicholas Westby 11 May 2018, 16:42:57 Updated by Sebastiaan Janssen 20 Jun 2018, 12:14:51Tags: Consider for sprint
Umbraco treats the first user you create specially. It's like a super admin. For example, when other user accounts login, they can't see the original user in the list of users in the Users section. This creates a problem, because users can't edit their own groups, which means that the groups for the original user can never be modified.
Here are the user groups for the original user, when viewed while logged in as the original user:
And here are the user groups for another user, when viewed while logged in as the original user:
As you can see, I can edit another user's groups by clicking "Remove" next to a group. However, I can't do that for the original user. And since I can't see the original user when logged in as another user, I am forever stuck with the "Migrated Section Access Group 1" and "Sensitive data" groups on this user (which got created when upgrading from an older version of Umbraco that didn't have user groups).
As a workaround, I was able to delete both the user groups from the Groups tab of the Users section. Didn't seem to break anything.
Looks like there's a few more hidden problems here!
You can actually go to the group in question as "the other" admin and.. remove the original admin (user 0) from the admin group. And then.. you're not even able to add them back to that group.
I am unsure why we don't allow people to remove or add groups on their own user, while we allow them to change groups for other users, other than the potential to shoot yourself in the foot. But then you can just add/remove yourself from the specific group anyway through the groups editor.
Backwards Compatible: True
Affected versions: 7.10.4
Due in version: