U4-11534 - Grid settings editing is confusing

Created by Sébastien Sougnez 26 Jul 2018, 12:25:01 Updated by Sebastiaan Janssen 27 Jul 2018, 10:46:52

Tags: PR

When trying to edit a grid settings, the "delete" icon takes the place of the "configure" one and prevent the user from clicking on it. If the user clicks, the settings gets deleted.

See the screencast in attachment.

I'll have a look at it in the upcoming days if no one did.

1 Attachments

Download 497f79d8-d72d-4e25-yb9b-5218305126ef.webm

Comments

Sebastiaan Janssen 26 Jul 2018, 13:10:52

I'm pretty sure that's what the "Edit" button directly under that is for! ;-)

Is it great UI? No. Does it work: sure. :-)


Sébastien Sougnez 26 Jul 2018, 13:29:39

@sebastiaan Shouldn't we still do something about that? I mean... There is a cog in front of a link that becomes a cross when hovering over it and an "Edit" link with a "plus" in front of it...

It's the first time I was using the grid system so for me, the cog was there to edit the setting it's referring to and the "Edit" link was there to add a new setting. I mean, I had to click on it to add one and the icon is a "plus". Indeed, the label of the link means that it is for editing everything but still, not clear.

It shouldn't be a big change to remove the cog and change the icon of the "Edit" link with a more meaningful icon. This way, people wouldn't try to click on the cog anymore and it would be obvious that the edit link is used to edit the whole config and not just one settings.

Would it be a greater UI? Yes. Would it still work: sure :-)


Sebastiaan Janssen 27 Jul 2018, 10:20:35

PR: https://github.com/umbraco/Umbraco-CMS/pull/2797


Priority: Normal

Type: Bug

State: Fixed

Assignee:

Difficulty: Normal

Category:

Backwards Compatible: True

Fix Submitted: Pull request

Affected versions:

Due in version: 7.12.0

Sprint:

Story Points:

Cycle: