We have moved to GitHub Issues
Created by Peter Gregory 04 Feb 2014, 13:27:15 Updated by Sebastiaan Janssen 05 Jun 2015, 16:28:23
Upgrade notes say that Nuget will create a backup of the web.config so that you can be sure you are getting the right configuration and that you can merge back later and that it is safe to say Y to the overwrite.
However when I performed the Update process it created a backup but it seems to be a backup of the new file and not the old one? Custom configuration was missing from the .backup version. Thank goodness for GIT.
Im not sure if this is a one off but thought I should report and have it tested out by the HQ.
I noticed the same behavior. In addition, if you select do not overwrite, it overwrites the web.config but properly saves the old web.config as a backup. I observed this same behavior when moving from 7.0.1 to 7.0.2.
I've investigated this and it is no longer possible to run powershell scripts BEFORE a package gets updated. I've updated the documentation to reflect that. In the future we'll investigate config transforms instead of overwriting the file, but that is a big task.
I'm getting reports that it DOES work, against all odds. Will check it out one more time but I have little faith. :)
Right, I've updated all that and now it does a backup if you say NO to overwrite, it'll get put in App_Data\ConfigBackup\20140314-18160 (or whatever the date/time is today). I'll update the docs with the proper procedure tomorrow, readme.txt is already updated.
Docs updated now as well.
Backwards Compatible: True
Affected versions: 7.0.2, 7.0.3
Due in version: 7.1.0