U4-4235 - Allow members to be stored in a separate database

Created by Pete Duncanson 14 Feb 2014, 13:37:00 Updated by Shannon Deminick 26 Jun 2017, 05:41:32

If you have a live site that allows members to join via a form or similar then you quickly end up with lots of generated content that is changing and of course important not to lose.

When we might want to do some development work we can ask for a content freeze, take a cut of the database and work on our bits and then push it up. But if we do that we lose the new members who have joined since. We can get around this by doing an import/export but to be sure we have to disable the member join up functionality ("sorry members are not currently available") then do the import/export and hope everything goes to plan. We have to do this everytime we have to do a release, soon gets tiresome and error prone.

Syncing media/content is easier to do, we have control over that by asking editors to not add anything or add it twice to staging and live. But not members...

To avoid all this I'd rather have the members have an option to store all the members in another database. I'm hoping this is relatively easy with the new data layer and its provider model (ducks for cover). Gist would be if an alternative connection string is provided for members then use it, if not fall back to the main Umbraco connection string...easy right? :)

I've talked with Morten about this a few times so consider this the formal request for this feature :)

Pete

Comments

Jeremy Pyne 09 Sep 2014, 02:39:47

Shrug, this is a edge case type thing. Normaly you could do this by setting up the system, then copying the user related tables to a second DB and creating views in the first DB that point to the second. (Views override tables of the same name.) I don't think that approach would work in Umbraco though because of the node structure(users have node records I believe.)

We get around these sort of issues by having a prod and dev version of the site and using Courier to migrate content between the two.


Shannon Deminick 26 Jun 2017, 05:41:32

Closing issue due to inactivity - see blog post for details https://umbraco.com/blog/issue-tracker-cleanup/


Priority: Normal

Type: Feature (request)

State: Closed

Assignee: Morten Christensen

Difficulty: Normal

Category: Architecture

Backwards Compatible: True

Fix Submitted:

Affected versions:

Due in version:

Sprint:

Story Points:

Cycle: