U4-5187 - Deleting doctype wipes out all content nodes based on it

Created by Arie 03 Jul 2014, 21:41:54 Updated by Shannon Deminick 26 Jun 2017, 07:11:51

Deleting a doctype seems to permanently delete all content nodes that are based on it.

I haven't looked at this very thoroughly yet, but the nodes were no longer in the database after I deleted the doctype they were based on (table: cmsContentXml).

I was merely testing, but this could be absolutely disastrous for a Production site; so far it looks like the content would be irretrievably lost.

By the way, there was no warning when I deleted the doctype.

Comments

Søren Reinke 04 Jul 2014, 09:03:55

It would be VERY nice, if umbraco informed us about the consequence of deleting things like doctypes, images and so. And list the items influenced by the delete.

Like deleting an image, makes Umbraco tell us that the image is used on the following 15 sites, are you sure.


Sebastiaan Janssen 08 Jul 2014, 18:13:20

Just FYI: This has been default behavior in Umbraco for years and years now. Obviously we could give better feedback but I just want to note that this is nothing new.


Arie 10 Jul 2014, 18:32:03

I wasn't aware that this was default behavior. However, since the behavior carries a relatively high risk to the availability of the site and the integrity of the content, I would have to disagree that it's not a significant issue - certainly closer to a bug than a feature request. I would argue that it's even a security issue (based on CompTIA's security triad of Confidentiality, Integrity, and Availability).


Søren Reinke 10 Jul 2014, 19:19:25

I can only agree, it's a bug and a nasty one.

That it has been this way for many years, does make it any less a bug.


Vladimir Knobel 13 Jul 2015, 19:50:18

This is very bad it just happened to me in 7.1.4. It completely deletes the node from the umbracoNode table and then disintegrates the children tree structure making all the individual nodes children of the recycle bin! At least if the tree structure were kept it would be easier to restore, but this is really a nasty surprise.


Shannon Deminick 26 Jun 2017, 07:11:51

Closing issue due to inactivity - see blog post for details https://umbraco.com/blog/issue-tracker-cleanup/


Priority: Normal

Type: Bug

State: Closed

Assignee:

Difficulty: Normal

Category: Architecture

Backwards Compatible: True

Fix Submitted:

Affected versions: 7.1.4

Due in version:

Sprint:

Story Points:

Cycle: