U4-5874 - Add option to turn off V7 Login page messages

Created by Gordon Saxby 24 Nov 2014, 17:25:14 Updated by Shannon Deminick 15 Jun 2015, 15:27:09

There should be an easy way, such as a config setting, to turn off the messages that appear on the Umbraco V7 login page, for exacmple "Happy manic Monday", as they may not be suitable for all client situations.

I know that it is possible to change the messages via the language files (e.g. \umbraco\Config\Lang\en.xml)

Comments

Jan Skovgaard 24 Nov 2014, 17:30:11

Perhaps it could be an option in the /config/UmbracoSettings.config?


Shannon Deminick 04 Dec 2014, 02:28:31

Yet-another-config-option, oh joy.

Seems like quite an edge case to me when you can just modify the other config language files already.


Tim Payne 04 Dec 2014, 20:35:38

Like Shannon says, adding a config option for this seems like overkill. While you can't set the language files to empty strings, as placeholder text is displayed, you can set them all to something bland, like "Welcome" (we did that for a corporate client recently). The bit you're looking for is: in the /umbraco/config/lang/en.xml file, the settings are greeting0 - 9!


Gordon Saxby 04 Dec 2014, 21:26:54

Editing the language files is not the first thing I think of. Also, do they survive or get overwritten during a version upgrade?

Can't see why it is a problem to add a config value ... but if not, then I guess I will just work round it. I can imagine "we did that for a corporate client recently" happening reasonably often.


Tim Payne 04 Dec 2014, 21:53:50

If you correctly merge your config files during the upgrade they should survive an upgrade (obviously if you just overwrite, you'll lose the changes, but the same is true of data added to the file by plugins like Contour etc). I've only had to do this once so far :)


Funka! 04 Dec 2014, 22:01:05

Language files are typically not overwritten during upgrades. Occasionally new keys will be added or occasionally certain entries retired, but if doing upgrades using the recommended assistance of a file comparison tool (like ExamDiff or WinMerge), language files stick out enough that they shouldn't get accidentally overwritten. If you are doing lots of repeated corporate Umbraco installs, having your own base super-customized installation with all your favorite stuff in it that you can use as a template when spawning new sites is a great idea, so you could put that there. I agree that if this can just be set to "Welcome" or other title in a (language) config file already, then there is no need for an additional config setting.


andrew shearer 19 May 2015, 03:55:28

hi - would it be possible for the shipped version not to include these 'fun' messages? they're slightly unprofessional, and they keep getting reinstated every time i upgrade i.e. umbraco 7.2.3 > 7.2.4 > 7.2.5. thanks


Shannon Deminick 15 Jun 2015, 15:27:09

This is fixed with the fix for this issue: http://issues.umbraco.org/issue/U4-5777#comment=67-21081


Priority: Normal

Type: Feature (request)

State: Fixed

Assignee:

Difficulty: Normal

Category:

Backwards Compatible: True

Fix Submitted:

Affected versions:

Due in version: 7.3.0

Sprint:

Story Points:

Cycle: