U4-663 - Creating new templates which already exist on disk should not overwrite content

Created by Stefan Kip 20 Aug 2012, 09:23:09 Updated by Stefan Kip 14 Dec 2015, 09:30:54

Relates to: U4-864

Relates to: U4-7530

When you create a template (masterpage) outside umbraco, for instance with Visual Studio so you have code-behind and designer files, you have to create it afterwards in umbraco. This is a step which I can understand, that's no problem. But it would be nice if the 'Create new template' step would check if the file to create already exists and if it does, would not overwrite it's content.

Comments

Jeroen Breuer 24 Oct 2012, 10:38:02

I think this issue will also fix that: http://issues.umbraco.org/issue/U4-684.


Shannon Deminick 27 Jun 2013, 23:56:57

@Jeroen, removing the templates entirely from the DB is a much more complex prob unfortunately :)


Michiel van Oosterhout 28 Jun 2013, 08:50:52

I have created a pull request for this: https://github.com/umbraco/Umbraco-CMS/pull/40


Sebastiaan Janssen 19 Jul 2013, 10:56:16

Merged into 6.1.3, thanks! Rev: a57334d1f78f2f6f41d9128f6dbb684e1e9ffdde


Stefan Kip 03 Dec 2015, 14:22:42

This issue has been introduced again and is present in 7.3.


Shannon Deminick 14 Dec 2015, 09:07:02

@kipusoep If you can replicate this in 7.3.x please create a new issue and link it here. As always we cannot open an already closed issue. Thanks!


Stefan Kip 14 Dec 2015, 09:21:05

Ah did not know that, I'll create a new issue!


Priority: Minor

Type: Bug

State: Fixed

Assignee:

Difficulty: Very Easy

Category:

Backwards Compatible: True

Fix Submitted: Pull request

Affected versions: 4.8.0

Due in version: 6.1.3

Sprint:

Story Points:

Cycle: