U4-6797 - Host name is not removed when page is deleted

Created by Ulrik Andersson 07 Jul 2015, 11:39:31 Updated by Shannon Deminick 19 Oct 2015, 13:53:30

Relates to: U4-3642

If you delete a page that has a host name attached to it, the host name is not removed. So when you're trying to add the same host name to another page it just doesn't work. Without any message why.

Suggested solutions:

  1. When a page is deleted simply remove all host names.
  2. If you're trying to add a duplicate host name to a page display a message showing which page already has the wanted host name attached.

Comments

Stephan 16 Oct 2015, 11:46:17

Notes:

  • when a page is "deleted" ie moved to the recycle bin, we do NOT want to detach the hostname, in case it was moved by mistake and then moved back into the content tree

  • but there should be a nice error message pointing to the page already using the domain

  • in addition, when the page is actually deleted (emptying recycle bin) and does not exist anymore - at all - we do delete the domain in database, but due to some caching in memory, the domain is not available before some time has passed

  • see related issue http://issues.umbraco.org/issue/U4-3642 for the error message (for an unknown reasons all messages and validations don't work anymore)

  • as for this issue, need to fix the cache issue


Stephan 16 Oct 2015, 15:23:41

Pushed 64f05e4c97b4ee7e4a00fe4366d213426fd4ddfb


Shannon Deminick 19 Oct 2015, 13:52:19

Code looks good, just remember to create PRs from these branches on github


Priority: Normal

Type: Usability Problem

State: Fixed

Assignee:

Difficulty: Normal

Category:

Backwards Compatible: True

Fix Submitted:

Affected versions: 7.2.6

Due in version: 7.3.1

Sprint: Sprint 1

Story Points:

Cycle: