U4-7484 - You have unsaved changes popup when nothing was changed - Options to Discard or Stay

Created by Wade Fitzgerald 02 Dec 2015, 19:19:32 Updated by Robert Copilau 07 May 2018, 06:50:29

Tags: PR

Is duplicated by: U4-8452

Relates to: U4-9996

Relates to: U4-4902

Subtask of: U4-11011

What did you do? When going from one resource to another (Media folder is the easiest way to see the bug) just start clicking between items and after a few clicks you will get this popup stating "You have unsaved changes - Do you want to Discard or Stay" - But there wasn't anything changed so this shouldn't popup. I also seen it when navigating between templates and content pages when nothing was changed. What did you expect to happen? Nothing should popup about saving changes unless something was changed. You can't click through to the next resource until you click one of these options.

2 Attachments

Comments

Stefan Kip 07 Dec 2015, 11:14:22

This is so annoying. This also happens when I switch from Settings (editing a Document Type) to Content and I land on the Getting started dashboard.


Shannon Deminick 26 Jun 2017, 07:17:21

Closing issue due to inactivity - see blog post for details https://umbraco.com/blog/issue-tracker-cleanup/


Jon Crawshaw 19 Jul 2017, 11:09:35

Issue affecting Umbraco 7.5.6. Warning intermittently comes up when no changes have been made. No pattern identified.


Robert Ghafoor 27 Jul 2017, 09:21:40

We also have this issue on umbraco 7.6.3 navigating on media or content etc sometimes shows this message where nothing has changed xD


Shannon Deminick 31 Jul 2017, 05:35:18

The problem is that some text boxes or other input elements needs to be attributed so that the change tracking is ignored. There's probably a few places in the back office that are just missing the "no-dirty-check" attribute (i.e searching for a member), for example: https://github.com/umbraco/Umbraco-CMS/blob/9badb35c054ecc91630b69b1b6753c78427cb4a6/src/Umbraco.Web.UI.Client/src/views/dashboard/developer/examinemanagement.html#L217

Sometimes this might come down to a certain property editor or just a field that has been overlooked.

I've discovered one way to replicate (i think), if you create a document type with one property of type Markdown editor and save this doc type. Then if you F5 and refresh the browser to refresh the whole back office and the doc type editor and then navigate away you should see the dialog. This is just one example and need to figure out what is causing the ng-dirty from being applied but this will be a similar thing elsewhere that this issue exists.


Hendy Racher 08 Aug 2017, 19:11:52

Hi, just to add have seen this behaviour on Umbraco 7.6.4 with the Upload data-type on content.


Damien 06 Nov 2017, 10:59:44

@Shandem just confirming your replication steps, I have a site which has been upgraded from 6.2.6 to 7.7.4, navigating between content nodes which have Markdown editors which have no content/blank presents the notification, even if the editor has not received focus (see attached) if i populate these editors, save & publish, revisit the node and navigate away i no longer receive the notification.


Barry O'Kane 25 Feb 2018, 05:38:16

Attempt to address this issue for MarkDown property editor (only).

PR: https://github.com/umbraco/Umbraco-CMS/pull/2475


Barry O'Kane 25 Feb 2018, 06:03:05

PR https://github.com/umbraco/Umbraco-CMS/pull/2476 should address this issue for fileUpload property editor (see also UA-9996)


Robert Copilau 08 Mar 2018, 12:26:42

Tested and working, thanks for your contribution @barryokane :D. Merged.


James Collins 04 May 2018, 17:06:04

@robertcopilau Will this fix (Markdown editor) be included in a future Umbraco version?


Priority: Normal

Type: Bug

State: Fixed

Assignee:

Difficulty: Normal

Category:

Backwards Compatible: True

Fix Submitted:

Affected versions: 7.2.1, 7.2.2, 7.2.3, 7.2.4, 7.2.5, 7.2.6, 7.2.7, 7.2.8, 7.3.1, 7.5.6, 7.6.3, 7.7.4

Due in version: 7.9.3

Sprint: Sprint 80

Story Points: 1

Cycle: 8