U4-9737 - Deleting a Macro should offer to delete the associate file, and vice versa

Created by Douglas Robar 05 Apr 2017, 15:38:51 Updated by Douglas Robar 05 Apr 2017, 15:38:51

Seen in 7.6RC (and every version of Umbraco, for that matter)

Create a Partial View Macro File

The associated Macro is created for you automatically

Delete the Macro (not the file, the Macro)

Or, Delete the file (not the macro)

In both cases, you have to remember to delete both the file and the macro individually. Though you created them as a single step. It's not uncommon to end up with 'gallery2' and 'memberList-new' because you couldn't create a new macro or file because the old one still existed. You thought you'd deleted it but now you can't be bothered so you end up with junk leftovers hanging around and bad naming.

It would be nice, especially when deleting a Macro, to be prompted to also delete the associated file. This should work for whatever rendering file is chosen in the Macro (mvc partial, xslt, usercontrol or razor script).

Ideally, it would work the other way as well. If you delete a Partial View Macro File and it is associated as the rendering file for an existing Macro, a prompt to also delete the Macro should be offered.

Comments

Priority: Normal

Type: Bug

State: Submitted

Assignee:

Difficulty: Normal

Category:

Backwards Compatible: True

Fix Submitted:

Affected versions: 7.6.0, 7.5.10, 7.5.11, 7.5.12

Due in version:

Sprint:

Story Points:

Cycle: